My Vacation with the President…

Image

Okay, okay… so that was a small huge exaggeration. But, we were on Martha’s Vineyard together, soo… it’s basically the same thing, right?  This past weekend my family and I took a mini vaycay to a lovely little island off the coast of Massachusetts.  If you’ve been following any of my posts over the last year, it should be pretty apparent that I’m a sucker for anything preppy, quaint, oceanside, and/or cobblestoned.  So you can imagine my excitement when I arrived to find that MV has beautifully married all of these wonderful qualities.  

Image

Image

Image

The first night, we went to dinner at this amazing hidden gem located in Edgartown called The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn.  Living up to their tagline: “behind the times on purpose,” this place is truly one of a kind in decor, elegance, and service.  I don’t think I’ve ever compared a restaurant to a “work of art,” but, I’m making an exception here.  Every room and outdoor space that we were fortunate enough to explore were immaculate.  Each item appeared like it was hand picked with the space in mind and nestled with precision among the other fabulous treasures original to the home.  One room, in particular, was the perfect backdrop for an after-dinner drink.  Mahogany walls, a fireplace flanked by leather chairs, equestrian trinkets, antique paintings, and silver serving sets filled the room – think, the dream study you never had (and if you do have such a study, I’m coming over…).  

I think with all my fascination with the decor, I’ve forgotten about the food.  Two words: so. good.  We began with decanted red wine, fresh-baked rolls, and french onion soup.  Everything was hot, healthy, and flavorful.  For my meal, I chose a roasted chicken dish served with potatoes and veggies.  The real star here was the dessert.  If you aren’t drooling yet, prepare yourself – homemade. sea salt caramel. gelato. with chocolate ganache.  Just sayin’, it was the closest to Heaven that my taste buds are ever going to get.  Bonus:  Apparently this is a celebrity hotspot.  I just can’t vouch for which ones.  The waitress we had was very hush hush about it, as those celebs that do frequent The Terrace do so with a confidentiality agreement in hand…Fancy! 

Sadly, I don’t have many pictures from this lovely little nook, but check out what I did capture below!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Fast forward to the morning and next on our food agenda (is there really any other kind of agenda?) was breakfast.  After grabbing a quick coffee at a great little shop (forgot the name.. whoops!) , we went to Among the Flowers Cafe.  Not much to say here except: great food, adorable atmosphere, and outside seating…among flowers. 

Another notable aspect of our trip was our biking adventure.  What better way to explore the island than to do so on our own two wheels.  Although, having not been on a bike that isn’t stationary in almost 4 years, my husband would say four wheels would be more appropriate for me. Let’s just say I struggled a bit at first, but it eventually came back… I mean, aren’t our bodies destined to never forget how to do this? Anyway, this was probably my favorite part of the whole weekend.  We trekked down to South Beach (not Miami…I’m not that athletic), to a lighthouse, and through some residential parts of Edgartown which literally left us speechless.  Those homes are like…perfect. I want to be in them.  

Here are some pics from our journey below!

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

One last thing, coffee.  I’m obsessed with it and I will honestly go out of my way for a good cup.  I think I may have found a place for serious java lovers (25+ types of coffee-serious): Espresso Love of Edgartown. (Disclaimer: I have never used the word “java” before…do I sound as ridiculous as I think I do!?) This place was completely hidden and also completely packed so I wasn’t able to really take it all in at a leisurely pace.  But, I was able to order an Iced Skinny Vanilla Latte.  I’ve had a lot of lattes in my day, but this, this was majestic.  So good and worth the trip if you’re in the MV area (or in Boston – who knew!?).  Another bonus: this is also a celebrity hotspot – President Obama and Meg Ryan as of late. 

Image

And as always, no Cape trip is complete without…:

Image

Vineyard fashions will be coming up in a later post, so stay tuned!

Where is your favorite summertime destination?  I want to know – comment below! 

XO

Image

4 responses

  1. I have a clear obsession with MV since I’ve been going since birth but I love the post! Also, I can personally attest to Meg Ryan’s affinity for Espresso Love 🙂

    • Hi girlfriend! Oh, I know you do…anchors and KJP bracelets galore- love it 🙂 MV is perfect and I’m so jealous of your Meg Ryan run-in. Celeb sightings and coffee mix well! Miss you and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

