Easy, Healthy, & Sweet Treats for Fall…

So maybe its the crisp fall air or the changing leaves that make me want to bake little sugary confections and warm up by a fire with some hot apple cider…doesn’t this happen to everyone?

To kick this “sport” (and I use this term incredibly loosely…) into high gear, I’ve compiled some must have recipes for fall.  I fully intend on trying these myself since they look too good, wayyy too cute (and sometimes even healthy!) to pass up.

OVEN BAKED APPLE CRISPS

Image

Image

Go ahead and try to tell me these don’t look amazing! You can’t. They are super easy, super healthy, and definitely scrumptious – and they even make your home smell festive… talk about a multi-tasking recipe!

WHAT TO GET

2 apples

Cinnamon

HOW TO DO IT

Remove apple core.

Thinly slice the entire apple.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and place apple slices on it.

Sprinkle with cinnamon.

Bake at 275 degrees for two hours. At the end of hour one flip them over so they bake evenly.Check on them at the hour mark and every 30 minutes after that. Once they look nice and crispy take them out and enjoy!

Pictures & Recipe taken from Delighted Momma.

NO BAKE OATMEAL COOKIE BALLS

Image

Maybe it’s because of my short stature, but I’m a big fan of anything bite-size.  These fun goodies intrigued me and I am certain Bake-Fest 2012, or in this case “no-bake” fest, will include some of these babies.

WHAT YOU NEED

1 cup of almond meal (buy at Trader Joes) **
1 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup white sugar
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon water
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup butter, softened
¼ cup of peanut butter **

1/2 cup powdered sugar, for tossing each ball in

(**Note: I am determined to find an alternative for these two ingredients for all my fellow nut allergy friends… sigh…)

HOW TO DO IT

Combine all ingredients, except powdered sugar, in a large bowl and mix until a dough is formed.

Using a cookie scoop, firmly pack the scoop and place each scoop on a cookie sheet.

Chill for 10 minutes.

In a large bowl add powdered sugar. Remove cookies from fridge and toss each cookie in powdered sugar until well coated. Shake off excess.

Place on a plate and chill for 10 minutes & enjoy!

Reminder: Keep leftovers in refrigerator

Picture & Recipe taken from Simply Gourmet.

CREAMY PUMPKIN SMOOTHIE

Image

TO. DIE. FOR. Ugh… where has this been all my life!? I’ll tell you where it hasn’t been and that’s in my stomach.  If you’ve read pretty much any of my fall posts I’ve mentioned ‘pumpkin’ at least once so I don’t believe this smoothie really needs much of an introduction except that I should have made it, like… yesterday.  Oh, and did I mention that it is actually fairly healthy and protein packed – as if we needed another reason to love this idea.

WHAT YOU NEED

1/3 cup pumpkin

1/4 banana, frozen

1/4 cup non-fat milk or coconut milk

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt, non-fat

3/4tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. maple syrup

1/2 tsp. stevia or extra 1 tsp. maple syrup

3/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

4 ice cubes

HOW TO DO IT

Mix all the ingredients in a blender. Process until smooth.

HEALTH INFORMATION

Calories: 156.8, Fat: .05, Cholesterol: 1.2, Sodium: 71.9, Potassium: 268.4,

Carbs: 24, Fiber: 4, Sugar: 13.5, Protein: 14.6

Picture & Recipe taken from Peanut Butter & Peppers.

Annndddd, meet me in the kitchen.  Let me know if you try any of these!

XO

Image

4 responses

Leave a Reply

